The Department of Professional Development is a group of professional development leaders who work closely with other departments to provide and support professional learning. Our main responsibility is to enhance professional learning within and across schools by aligning with the guidelines for high quality professional learning. The National Staff Development Council promotes research which clearly demonstrates that collaborative, inquiry-based, job-embedded, and sustained professional learning is crucial for improving teaching. While short-term workshops are occasionally necessary, we believe schools will benefit most from a collaboratively planned professional learning focus that aligns to SIP goals, action plans and the strategic plan of the district.

Image of Marggie Banker
Executive Director of Professional Learning & Leadership Development Marggie Banker
Phone:(608) 663-1925
Emailmmbanker@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Sue Gorud
Director of Professional Excellence Sue Gorud
Phone:(608) 442-2921
Emailsgorud@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Jessie Gagan
Administrative Assistant Jessie Gagan
Phone:(608) 663-4955
Emailjmgagan@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Jorge Covarrubias
Educator Effectiveness Strategist Jorge Covarrubias
Phone:(608) 206-9022
Emailjcovarrubias@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Dan Davidson
Educator Effectiveness Strategist Dan Davidson
Phone:(608) 516-5222
Emaildwdavidson@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Joleen R. Welborn
Technology Specialist Joleen R. Welborn
Phone:(608) 535-6308
Emailjrwelborn@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Kathleen Doherty
New Educator Mentor Kathleen Doherty
Phone:(608) 219-7554
Emailkdoherty@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Lachele Greenlee
New Educator Mentor Lachele Greenlee
Phone:(608) 219-5610
Emaillmgreenlee@madison.k12.wi.us
Image of Nicole Von Haden
New Educator Mentor Nicole Von Haden
Phone:(608) 225-3109
Emailnvonhaden@madison.k12.wi.us