The Department of Professional Development is a group of professional development leaders who work closely with other departments to provide and support professional learning. Our main responsibility is to enhance professional learning within and across schools by aligning with the guidelines for high quality professional learning. The National Staff Development Council promotes research which clearly demonstrates that collaborative, inquiry-based, job-embedded, and sustained professional learning is crucial for improving teaching. While short-term workshops are occasionally necessary, schools will benefit most from a collaboratively planned professional learning focus that aligns to SIP goals, action plans and the strategic plan of the district.

Sue Gorud

Executive Director

Sue Gorud
Phone: (608) 663-1925
Email: sgorud@madison.k12.wi.us

Jorge Covarrubias

Director of Educator Excellence

Jorge Covarrubias
Phone: (608) 442-2921
Email: jcovarrubias@madison.k12.wi.us

Jessie Gagan

Administrative Assistant

Jessie Gagan
Phone: (608) 663-4955
Email: jmgagan@madison.k12.wi.us

Shawdi Nesbit

Educator Effectiveness Strategist

Shawdi Nesbit
Phone: (608) 501-0896
Email: sknesbit@madison.k12.wi.us

Stacy Ackerman

Educator Effectiveness Strategist

Stacy Ackerman
Phone: (608) 501-2760
Email: seackerman@madison.k12.wi.us

Pamela Ferrill

New Educator Mentor

Pamela Ferrill
Phone: (608) 445-8653
Email: pferrill@madison.k12.wi.us

Anabell Torres

New Educator Mentor

Annabel Torres
Phone: (608) --- ----
Email: gale@madison.k12.wi.us

Michelle Staff Smith

New Educator Mentor

Michelle Staff Smith
Phone: (608) 442-2788
Email: mstaffsmith@madison.k12.wi.us

Jill Thies

New Educator Mentor

Jill Thies
Phone: (608) 239-2135
Email: jthies@madison.k12.wi.us

Lachele Greenlee

Professional Learning Coordinator - Elementary

Lachele Greenlee
Phone: (608) 219-5610
Email: lmgreenlee@madison.k12.wi.us

Jaren Bailey-Washington

Professional Learning Coordinator - Secondary

Jaren Bailey-Washington
Phone: (608) --- ----
Email: jebaileywash@madison.k12.wi.us

Joleen R. Welborn

Technology Specialist

Joleen R. Welborn
Phone: (608) 535-6308
Email: jrwelborn@madison.k12.wi.us