The Department of Professional Development is a group of professional development leaders who work closely with other departments to provide and support professional learning. Our main responsibility is to enhance professional learning within and across schools by aligning with the guidelines for high quality professional learning. The National Staff Development Council promotes research which clearly demonstrates that collaborative, inquiry-based, job-embedded and sustained professional learning is crucial for improving teaching. While short-term workshops are occasionally necessary, schools will benefit most from a collaboratively planned professional learning focus that aligns to SIP goals, action plans and the strategic plan of the district.

Jorge Covarrubias

Interim Executive Director

Jorge Covarrubias
Email: jcovarrubias@madison.k12.wi.us

Lachele Greenlee

 Interim Director of Professional Learning

Lachele Greenlee
Email: lmgreenlee@madison.k12.wi.us

Jessie Gagan

Administrative Assistant

Jessie Gagan
Email: jmgagan@madison.k12.wi.us

Shawdi Nesbit

Educator Effectiveness Strategist

Shawdi Nesbit
Email: sknesbit@madison.k12.wi.us

Stacy Ackerman

Educator Effectiveness Strategist

Stacy Ackerman
Email: seackerman@madison.k12.wi.us

Pamela Ferrill

New Educator Mentor

Pamela Ferrill
Email: pferrill@madison.k12.wi.us

Elizabeth Crummy

New Educator Mentor

Elizabeth Crummy
Email: ecrummy@madison.k12.wi.us

Michelle Staff Smith

New Educator Mentor

Michelle Staff Smith
Email: mstaffsmith@madison.k12.wi.us

Jill Thies

New Educator Mentor

Jill Thies
Email: jthies@madison.k12.wi.us

Annabel Torres

New Educator Mentor

Annabel Torres
Email: altorres@madison.k12.wi.us

Marisa Flowers

Professional Learning Coordinator

Marisa Flowers
Email: mcarr@madison.k12.wi.us

Jaren Bailey-Washington

Professional Learning Coordinator

Jaren Bailey-Washington
Email: jebaileywash@madison.k12.wi.us

Joleen R. Welborn

Technology Specialist

Joleen R. Welborn
Email: jrwelborn@madison.k12.wi.us